A wonderful trip to Manchester

Well I thought I should write about a wonderfully exciting trip to Manchester that I took last week with my best friend Leanne. The reason for us undertaking a three hour bus ride up north was to see the wonderful beguiling Amanda Palmer. We both share a mutual love of her music which is hard to define. And I think the best way to sum it up is that Amanda Palmer is Amanda Palmer. She is so much more that a singer or a member of a band. Anyway back to the trip. We heard that she was touring so on a whim we decided we would make the journey just to be in her presence.

It all began at derby bus station, where we tried not to wet ourselves and behave like adults. But we nearly exploded with excitement when we saw that we would be journeying through the Peak District on a double decker bus. We sat right at the front, it was wonderful journey filled with beautiful sights and singalongs to My Chemical Romance and Avenged Sevenfold. We also decided at when we get older we are going to work at the mcvities biscuit factory. We arrived at the bus station and made our way to the hostel. Last time we stayed there we got proper lost but this time I had magic navigational skills and we got there without any problems.

We checked in, dumped our bags in he room, said a brief hello to our room mate, then we left. We spent the afternoon meandering through Afflecks, which involved sticking our hands in lucky dip toilets and buying tiny hats. While we were out I managed to purchase a Sonic Screwdriver I almost died when I bought it but I digress. We eventually went in search of food. We returned to our room for an epic floor picnic. Which featured the most amazing Krispy Kreme doughnuts.

Despite the disgusting heat and the sweaty underboob-ness of the whole afternoon. We managed to transform our self it to beautiful creatures. After our rapid transformation we left the room in search of a taxi and a cash point. Both were found and we head to the venue.

As we entered, it hit me that the venue was silent and all I could think to myself was fuck we miss it. But as we worked towards the stage, my eyes were drawn to a voice and a ukulele coming from the balcony, and there she stood the women we had journeyed so far to see. Never before had something moved me in such a happy way. From that moment on I knew we were in for a good show. After getting up heads around what we had just seen, we bought drinks and awesome merch before taking our place at the front.

Instead of having to stand through the usual crap of support bands, Amanda had used members of her own band, the fantastically named Grand Theft Orchestra. If you want to know more i suggest you use google! There was never a dull minute. There was always a story to be told or someone coming out to make us aware of a worthy cause. Eventually it was time for the main attraction.

Amanda burst out on to the stage and played a few songs from her new album, Theatre Is Evil. As well as a few classics such as Oasis, Astronaut and Map Of Tasmania. All song passionately sung not only Amanda but by every member of the audience. Things took a slower pace when she played a new song which I think is called Bigger On The Inside. And I am not ashamed to say, it was such a beautiful song, that I cried. And I knew Leanne was doing the same. They weren’t tears of sadness but of relating to the lyrics and knowing that even up there on a stage, she is just a normal person with feelings. The feels stayed because it was followed by The Bed Song. I cried even more and held hands with Leanne. She was the only one I would have wanted to share that moment with. Also thrown into the mix were Morrissey and Pulp covers. The show ended on a high note as she closed with The Ukulele Anthem. Which made me want to play the ukulele.

We left the venue on such a high and I can safely say that it was one of the best gigs I have ever been to. Amanda informed us that she would be doing s signing after the show. So we waited outside, trying to be calm and quiet as we possible could. Anyway to cut a long story short, she came out and she was wonderful enough to sign our tickets and take photos of us. And she gave Leanne that biggest ever hug. We walked away to find a taxi and it felt like we were walking on air.

We were still in shock as we travelled back to the hostel. After scrubbing off the make up and putting on slippers and pyjamas, we went and had the longest most intense game of Jenga ever. There s photographic evidence!

The next morning arrived all too abruptly. We consumed breakfast still on a high from the night before. After purchasing more amazing doughnuts, we headed back to the bus station, happy that we got to ride a double decker on the way back. We napped, listened to music, read crappy magazines which were also used as fans. All in all it was a brilliant two days. And I am so glad I got to share it with my best friend.

We did take pictures but I am typing this on my iPad so if yo want to go look at them they are on Facebook and Instagram.

Published by

blackxheartx

SHINFO!!!!

One thought on “A wonderful trip to Manchester”

  1. This is more awesome than Macklemore’s Grandad outfit… I’mma paste the link to this on my blog šŸ™‚ It was such an awesome trip! Much, much loves x

Leave a Reply

