Books <3

While I was waiting town yesterday afternoon, waiting for my friend to finish work. I decided to go and look in Waterstones and it made me realize how much I actually love reading. I do not know what it is about reading a good book that I love so much, all I know is that it’s something that fills me with so much joy and happiness that I find it hard not to get whole heartedly stuck in to a book.

As of about five minutes ago I finished reading a massive book, that has taken me less than three weeks to read. There were times when I was reading Dexter that I actually found it hard to put down and stop reading. But things like eating and going to work seem to get in the way. I can honestly say that I will be reading it again. In my room, I also have other books that I have read over and over again, because there is something about those certain books that I cannot forget even when a lot of time has passed since the last time I picked up that book. I even have a book that I was given for Christmas in 1993 or 1994 (I can’t remember which?!), it’s called Ashes, Ashes. And in all honestly I love that book. 

I was six or seven when I got that book. And I can remember being more interested in the pictures than in the actually words written in there. It wasn’t until I got older that I began to appreciate what was written, and as I approached 20, I finally understand the meaning of the book. And I had never realized how sad it was. Yet I still love that book. I urge everyone to try to find a copy and tell me what you think. Although after a quick look on Google, tells me that the book doesn’t exist (I did another search and found it this time it’s by  Etienne Delessert)

Another book that I seem to read over and over again is a book called The Regulators by Richard Bachman (who is actually Stephen King). It is an odd book to say the least but being a massive Stephen King fan, this book holds a special place in my heart. Even though when I finally got a copy of IT to read. I started reading it, got freaked out (from watching the film when I was younger) I decided the best place to hide it was under my bed. When I finally got it back out, I really enjoyed and have read it several more times since. Maybe next time I find a book that freaks me out, I’ll do what Joey did on Friends and put it in the freezer!! 😀

This is going to be my last waffling paragraph about how much I love reading, but until a few years ago, I had never thought about reading an Autobiography. I found it somewhat confusing to read about a famous person’s humble beginnings to who they are now. Then I read Sharon Osbourne’s first book and it totally changed my mind. I haven’t read many so far but the ones I have read have been fantastic and compelling. Out of them, there is one that will forever hold a special place in my heart and that is Simon Pegg’s Nerd Do Well. The reason the epic amount of love and praise I have for this book is because my dad took the time out of his day to go and get the book signed by Simon. I actually cried when I opened the book, it has my name in and the effort my dad had gone to, tp procure it for me. And also I adore Simon Pegg. It was nice to read a book written by a fellow geek!! 

That’s enough rambling for now. I need some breakfast.

P.S My apologizes if none of this makes any sense. It does to me 😛

Published by

blackxheartx

SHINFO!!!!

3 thoughts on “Books <3”

  1. A fantastic post, as always! 😀 I really need to get back into reading- University took all of the joy out of it for me. Kurt Vonnegut is one of my favourite writers, and I absolutely adore Poe, it’s just finding the time and not being kidnapped by work all the time, making me wish I could tear people’s necks out 😀 x

    1. I bought one of Vonnegut’s books. I started reading it and now I can’t remember what it’s called. I love Poe too! I have this hugh massive book with all this work in it. I know what you mean. I try to find time to read and it’s usually on the bus to work. Hahah I would to see someone’s neck be pulled out. Oh and on the recommendation front, check out a book called ‘Darkly Dreaming Dexter’ and I shall check out Johnny the Homicidal Maniac. The title alone sounds awesome! x

Leave a Reply

